top of page

Steven E. Harms, MD, FACR, FSBI

Honorable Chairmain of Clinical Advisory Board

Steven E. Harms, MD, FACR is recognized nationally in the area of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). He was formerly on the faculty at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS), Baylor University Medical Center in Dallas, and M. D. Anderson Cancer Institute. During his 14 years as director of MRI at Baylor, Dr. Harms and his research team developed numerous MRI applications including TMJ, knee, orbit and RODEO Breast MRI. ​​

He is the former president of the Society of Magnetic Resonance in Medicine and received the AMA William Beaumont Award in 1995 (annually awarded to the outstanding physician in the nation under the age of 50). Harms was named “Komen Foundation Scientist of the Year” by Susan G. Komen for the Cure in 1998. He has authored over 116 scientific papers, 43 book chapters, and 11 patents. He was on the committee that wrote the current American Cancer Society breast cancer screening guidelines, which recommends breast MRI screening for high-risk patients. He was on the Board of Directors of the Society of Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (past-President) and the American Society of Breast Disease. He was served as a member and chairman of the Medical Devices Panel of the US Food and Drug Administration for over 17 years. He was awarded Fellow in the American College of Radiology and the Society of Breast Imaging. Harms practices at The Breast Center of Northwest Arkansas in Fayetteville, Arkansas a part of a larger multi-speciality practice, Medical Associates of Northwest Arkansas where he is a member of the executive committee and secretary and is Clinical Professor of Radiology at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.

Screen Shot 2018-09-23 at 12.55.32.png
bottom of page